Rogue One

images

The critics’ reviews are all over the map on Rogue One, the latest Star Wars movie, and honestly, so are mine. Although it’s a prequel, meant to explain the sequels, at one point I felt like I took a NyQuil.

There’s solid acting by one veteran actor, and lots of newcomers and unknowns. The story had me confused from the start, but I clued in as the plot moved along, remembering tidbits from past episodes.

There was lots of action, which I normally like, but found boring at one point. Maybe I tired of the story. Darth Vader only made a brief appearance, which I felt left the ending anti-climatic. Having said that, Cathryn shed a tear at the end when one of the original cast makes a cameo appearance to utter one word, “Hope.”

Rogue one was entertaining, with a bit of humor thrown in with the drama. Half of our audience clapped at the end, and you don’t see that happen often. Cathryn rates the movie an 8, but in being generous, I’m giving it a 7 out of 10.

One thought on “Rogue One

Leave a Reply

