Captain America: Civil War

maxresdefault

“Captain Crunch and his cereal box heroes,” would be a more appropriate name for this MMA match-up. Okay, I admit I’ve never read a single comic book, but I’ve grown up on Batman and Superman and even heroes like Mighty Mouse. Why can’t he get in on the action? Even Ant-man got in on this one.

I’m sorry to say, but I was a bit lost in this action flick, mostly because I didn’t know who all the enhanced humans were. I felt like this movie was part three of a trilogy, and I’d missed the second part.

The fights and action were good, but I always thought iron was tougher than flesh and muscle. These guys drop trucks and buildings on each other and only end up with a few bruises. The theme and plot were interesting. It reminded me of what is going on in the real world, where the police are being handcuffed for doing their jobs, because of collateral damage they might cause in the execution of their duties.

The parallel is uncanny. Let criminals or super-criminals run a muck, then wait and see what kind of a world we’ll be living in.

In my opinion Ant-man was a cool addition to the super ensemble, but Spider-man (Tom Holland)  stole the show with his fresh and young perspective.

I saw this flick with a long-time buddy. Although he didn’t give me a number, he said he thought the movie was more suited to his pre-teen grandchildren. I give it 7 out of 10.

Leave a Reply

